Is Breast Milk the Key to Mother-Baby Bonding?

93522502-resize

The secret to mother-baby bonding might be breast milk, according to new research that determines that breast-feeding mothers are more likely than formula-feeding moms to bond with their infants in the months after they’re born.

Article Link

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. naturallymum
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 01:49:15

    I am very pro breastfeeding but I don’t think that the milk itself bonds mother and baby. There are so many factors, the primary one (in my mind) is that only the mother can feed the baby and therefore they are constantly tuned in. My partner is the first to wake up when our eldest daughter cries but often doesn’t even stir for the baby. For a few nights when I was particularly exhausted I expressed milk for him to feed her and we swapped sides of the bed. Remarkably by the second night I found I could actually sleep through her cries and he hardly slept at all. Normally, as soon as she even moves or her breathing changes I would have been instantly awake and I actually found it quite scary not having that instinct kick in. It would be interesting to hear if bottle feeding mothers have the same adrenaline rush when their baby wakes in the night.

    Reply

    • Drew Starr
      Oct 07, 2011 @ 16:54:45

      Hi, Sorry it has taken me a few days to respond. Firstly, Thank you for subscribing to my blog! In response to your comment, I also would like to know if mother’s that choose to use formula still have the adrenaline “response” as breastfeeding mothers do. I have read that the the mothers response times to infant feeding cues are slightly slower with formula fed infants, but cannot remember where I saw this article to reference this. I also agree with you that it is not the milk alone that bonds mother and baby but plays a key part in the special relationship.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

