The Process of an Undisturbed Birth

The process of undisturbed birth is very simple, yet medical interventions have made birthing a process of being delivered instead of giving birth naturally. Undisturbed birth means that a pregnant woman does not receive any unnecessary medical exams, tests, or interventions. This type of birth is often supported by skin-to-skin contact, early exclusive breastfeeding, and delayed cord clamping and cutting. An undisturbed birth does not mean that the mother does not take care of herself or receive medically necessary procedures to save the life of herself or her child. The use of anesthesia or labor inducing medicines are not generally considered a part of an undisturbed birth plan. Immediately after birth, the undisturbed mother is allowed to begin breastfeeding. This produces Oxytocin and Prolactin that helps with the natural delivery of the placenta. An undisturbed birth allows both mother and baby to produce their own chemicals and hormones. They are able to find the right positions to give birth naturally, as women have done since the beginning of time.

© Drew Starr, 2011

Digg This
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jmporter54
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 16:42:53

    Hi Drew. I’ve been enjoying your blog this evening. Great posts. Things that I can relate to and that I write about myself at http://www.letstalkpregnancy.com.

    Wondered if you might be interested in guest posting on my blog? Something to consider. Let me know.

    Jane

    Reply

    • Drew Starr
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 01:25:57

      Hi, and thank you for reading my blog! I would love to be a guest blogger for your site. Is there any topic you would like me to write about? Also, would you like to post something on my blog? I would be willing to put a link to your site, if you wanted me to. Thanks again!
      Drew

      Reply

      • jmporter54
        Nov 14, 2011 @ 08:32:28

        Hi Drew. Thanks so much for getting back to me and agreeing to guest post for me! I’m thrilled that you’re willing to do so.

        As to a topic, feel free to select whatever happens to move you when you start… lol It can be about pregnancy, labor and delivery, nutrition during pregnancy, issues during pregnancy such as gestational diabetes, infertility issues, childbirth options/choices/situations, breastfeeding, infant-maternal bonding, teen pregnancy, midwifery, etc. Whatever you choose will work for me.

        My only request would be that you limit it to 500 words or so.

        I’d be honored to post to your blog as well. Suggest a few options for me and I’ll see what moves ME.. lol

        With WordPress.org, I will create an author’s account for you on my blog and send you the login information. I would need an email address of yours in order to set up the account and then send you the login information (not here, but via email).

        Jane

  2. Drew Starr
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 01:32:49

    Hi Jane,
    Just wanted to let you know that I sent you my reply to your email Oceanswell
    Drew

    Reply

  3. Drew Starr
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 16:39:01

    Hi Jane, I have not heard back from you and was just wondering if you have received my email? Please email me at infantpsychology@gmail.com
    Thank you,
    Drew

    Reply

Leave a Reply

