The Most Scientific Birth Is Often the Least Technological Birth

If you look at scientific literature, you find over and over again that many interventions increase risk to mother and child instead of decreasing it.

“Ethicists talk about birthing choices as if they are informed and autonomous, but I can’t count how many women have said to me they "chose" pain meds during birth even though they were never told the risks.”

Article Link

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mamaquesta
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 17:16:16

    I find it so interesting that as humans, the majority of us hold an unchallenged belief that more technology= better outcomes, and I think this is most apparent in the way our birthing systems (or could I say industry?) work by default.

    I have to admit, from the outside I do ‘look’ like one of the people your students described, but I also chose an undisturbed, natural birth because the research, science- not to mention traditional wisdom- all pointed towards this way.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Prenatal Yoga Video | Yummylicious Yoga

Leave a Reply

